Do you AdMIT that Life is an Experiment?

Have you ever been in an experiment? I regularly experiment on the people around me, including my children. You can read about all the fun in my most excellent post, “The 8 Words That Can Keep Any Conversation Going.”

Is it possible that life is some sort of experiment? In a scientific experiment, there are two groups: the clueless and the suckers (or to put it a little more gently, the guinea pigs). And if we are unlucky, some of us are the clueless suckers (In other words, Husbands).

The scientific names of the two groups are the control group and the experimental group. The control group is the chill group, the group that participates by doing nothing except showing up. The experimental group is where the action is, they get the brunt of whatever variables are being tested by the experiment.

www.toonpool.com
http://www.toonpool.com

In an experiment, variables are the questions that scientists ask: “If a person eats this food, will they lose weight?” or “If a person is distracted, how will that affect their memory?” Because we all have such a short attention span, usually there is only one variable that is different between the groups.

For those who believe in conspiracy theories, in The Maze Runner series variables are the tests that subjects face, courtesy of mysterious Government forces. You may want to watch the trailer here, but be warned it is not for the kiddies.

www.pagetopremiere.com
http://www.pagetopremiere.com

I wonder if there may be some truth to the conspiracies? Where I live, Government parties can be venom-spewing enemies’ one day and handshaking friends the next day. I call them the Progressively Wild Conning Rose party of Alberta. When this kind of stuff happens in real life, it makes me want to believe in the Tooth Fairy and lucky numbers.

calgary.ctvnews.ca
calgary.ctvnews.ca

I think that life is an experiment but one where the tables are turned. The inmates have taken over. We get to decide whether we are in the control group or the experimental group. It is up to each of us to decide our level of challenge.

Every day, life offers you and I an opportunity to step in and participate a little more (See my recent post “The Downside of Being Grounded”). Situations that challenge us, upset our plans and make us feel stress ARE life! Our experience makes us who we are and brings out more of who we are capable of being.

I am almost 50 and I am still growing up. Sorry to burst your bubble, kiddies. Yes, I am a grown man-child and sometimes I think more like a teenager… at least that is what my wife tells me. I have grown significantly over the past few years by learning the power of acceptance. Accepting is my antidote to wishing. Working on things does more than wishing for things. I guess I have a bit of a thick skull…

Uhhh...
Uhhh…

One of the best books that I have read on the subject of learning from our realities and limitations is Emotionally Healthy Spirituality by Peter Scazzero (See Reference section). How you and I respond to our limits can determine how much energy we have available to live our lives.

Accept our limits or believe that life is a conspiracy? Hidden within the word Limit may be the key that I just discovered a few minutes ago: LiMITMIT is short for Massachusetts Institute of Technology.

Maybe the scientists really are behind all of this? Without anyone noticing, MIT has quietly weaved it’s way into our everyday vocabulary in an attempt to undermine our freedom and self determination. Think of how far their reach has become and how they have taken over our language and governments: From LiMITs to ComMITment to AdMIT to CalaMITy to ConforMITy. Heck, even our Lock sMIThs! And now that the truth is known, at the center of it all is Danielle SMITh!

Today, life is asking you and I whether we will step into whatever our day has for us.

It is not the critic who counts; not the man who points out how the strong man stumbles, or where the doer of deeds could have done them better. The credit belongs to the man who is actually in the arena, whose face is marred by dust and sweat and blood; who strives valiantly; who errs, who comes short again and again, because there is no effort without error and shortcoming; but who does actually strive to do the deeds; who knows great enthusiasms, the great devotions; who spends himself in a worthy cause; who at the best knows in the end the triumph of high achievement, and who at the worst, if he fails, at least fails while daring greatly…

Theodore Roosevelt as cited by Brenee Brown

Keep it real

 

If you like what you read in my blog, I would appreciate if you would leave a comment or like this post. To receive automatic updates,  sign up below for my blog. And please take a selife but don’t be selfish, share this with your friends. Brighten their day.

References:

(I am now part of Amazon’s Affiliate program. I receive a referral fee if you purchase a resource through one of links in the article. It is just one more way you can support my blog.)

Brown, B. (2012). Daring Greatly. Gotham Books. Quote page 2.

 Scazerro, P. (2006). Embrace the Gift of Limits. Nashville, Tennessee: Thomas Nelson Publishers. Page 147-148.

 

2 thoughts on “Do you AdMIT that Life is an Experiment?

Leave a Reply

