Minions and the No Poo Challenge

Do You No Poo?
Do You No Poo?

Shampoo: We use if for our hair, for our pets, for our cars and for our carpets. Most of us love it but there is a growing movement of shampoo haters. The movement has some new found social power, courtesy of The Minions.

___

Everyone I know loves to shampoo. Nothing feels better than the clean feeling you get from a shower. It feels so good that we buy billions of bottles of shampoo every year and a movie was even made about it.

Honestly, I would go insane watching a two hour movie about people doing their hair. I try to spend less than 10 minutes on my hair every day (shower + hair gel = 10 minutes).

Shampoo defined

Shampoo has been around for about 200 years. It all started when the West was Wild and country folk were sold elixirs that would make their hair Purdy.  They did not stop to think about what went into the bottles. Shampoo is a compound word: Sham-poo. In English, sham is defined as fake. And poo, well… we know what that is. Putting it together, shampoo means fake poo.

I guess that takes the Purr out of Purdy.

I know people who purposely don’t shampoo their hair. They shampoo one day and let their hair “rest” the next day. I guess that I can’t judge, I have occasional stuble-growing-weekends where I’ve gone up to three days without a shower.  In addiction recovery, we call this a relapse. Not a total loss, just a bad weekend in need of a reboot.

Do you No Poo or Shampoo?

The next time I go three days without a shower, if you comment on my B.O. remember that it’s not my Body Odor, it’s my Balance Odor.

Some people hate shampoo. They call their movement “No poo.” The No Poo movement uses natural alternatives to shampoo that leave the healthy oils intact. It’s part of a healthy, natural lifestyle that seeks balance. The next time I go three days without a shower, if you comment on my B.O. remember that it’s not my Body Odor, it’s my Balance Odor.

Don’t you find it at least a little ironic that we have a movement that is called No Poo? In my world, if there is no poo, there’s no movement. (And it’s called Constipation. Try that for a movie title.)

Millions of Minions

Minions have no concept of showering or other bodily functions. They just get up, go to work, save the world and then do it again tomorrow. They are the ideal workers. No showers, no shampoo and no movements of any kind.

The No poopers have momentum on their side. The Minions movie is adding some much needed social pressure. Minions have no concept of showering or other bodily functions. They just get up, go to work, save the world and then do it again tomorrow. They are the ideal workers. No showers, no shampoo and no movements of any kind. Sounds like retirement to me.

Do you No Poo or Know Pooh?

Do You Know Pooh?
Do You Know Pooh?

Life is a series of challenges. Perhaps you will take up the No Poo Challenge? That one is not for me, but I’ve signed on for the Realness Challenge at The Good Men Project.  Whether you No Poo or Shampoo, I leave you with some wisdom from Winnie the Pooh.

“It is more fun to talk with someone who doesn’t use long, difficult words but rather short, easy words like “What about lunch?”
― A.A. MilneWinnie-the-Pooh

Keep it Real

If you like my words, please sign up to receive notifications of new posts by email or through Facebook. I promise that you will receive no spam from me. I write stories that may just change your story. As a writer, the greatest compliment you can give me is to share this with your friends.

Photo Credits: Minion by Sonny Abesamis and Winnie and the Poo by Kyknoord.

Click on this link to see more of my Good Men Project content.
Click on this link to see more of my Good Men Project content.
2 thoughts on “Minions and the No Poo Challenge

  1. I do. 🙂 I dont have much hair as the past two years ive shaved for childhood cancer. I did it before shaving, and now that im planning on growing it im continuing. my hair is so healthy and soft, I never want to go back to shampoo!

    Like

Leave a Reply

