Free WIFI, so Please Don’t Feed the Idiots

HATERS_Erik Gustafson_GMP

Idiots are more powerful than thinking people?

___

Idiot: “An Utterly foolish or senseless person.” (Dictionary.com)

How is it that the Idiots got into power?

How is it that idiots have claimed the power to influence our minds and our emotional lives?

When did it happen? I’m not talking political idiots, although there are definitely idiots with political power. I mean, how is it that idiots have claimed the power to influence our minds and our emotional lives?

Think about a situation where you were criticized, where you received a judging look, where you were ignored or treated with outright disrespect. This could be in-person, over the phone, or facing the trolls on social media. What did you feel in the moment? What came up in your ‘post-game analysis’ of the encounter with your idiot? 

For a moment, just stop reading. 

Stay with me here. I am asking you and I to stop reading and for a moment, sit with the emotions, the images, and the connections that come into our minds when we face an idiot. What do you feel?

The other day someone I barely know criticized me for a decision I had made. I could sense the disregard in their voice. Without saying it, the person judged me. In an instant, my mind took off like prairie grass on fire. It was as if a primal emotional bandwidth had been hacked. Old feelings rushed to the surface. Criticism can often send me into spirals. Days after, I am still working through it.

Why do we give idiots power?

We give power to people we care about, because they have earned it.

When we have built trust and a relationship with a person, we expect vulnerability and honesty with our reactions. We feel more human (and humane) when we are with people who are real. Sometimes people you love carry things too far. We all do that and that is what forgiveness and beer are for. We give power to people we care about, because they have earned it.

Strangers sometimes take it upon themselves to make personal statements towards you or I and they don’t know anything about us. No investment of time or trust, but boom, here’s me telling you that you suck. That is idiotic.

Some days I don’t get much sleep. I can overreact. On more than one occasion, I have been an idiot. I cannot judge the idiots out there, because I have been one.

As of right now I am on a campaign: Free WIFI, so Please Don’t Feed the Idiots.Free Wifi_Nicolas Nova_GMP

Free WIFI, so Please Don’t Feed the Idiots

“I will never surrender my self-esteem (happiness, mental health, or my art) to idiots.”

I wrote in my journal the other day, “I will never surrender my self-esteem (happiness, mental health, or my art) to idiots.” Instead, there is FREE WIFI, so please don’t feed the Idiots. (I get it that I am mixing metaphors… but read on, it works out in the end).

FREE WIFI – Okay, it’s not free everywhere, but there is enough free WIFI out there that you and I have access to people who see and bring out the good within us.

  • You and I are not limited to what we know. We have free WIFI now.
  • We can ask others who are across from us and across the globe. Relationships with real people are what matters.
  • We can get new ideas and support.
  • We can find and build a community of like minded, like spirited people.

DON’T FEED THE IDIOTS – This is hard. Trust me, I know from personal experience. Ignoring is hard and gossiping is more fun. But gossiping about idiots is like trying to kill dandelions with a lawn mower: Idiocy can become viral.

  • It’s toxic. Ignore them. Disregard them.
  • Don’t believe that your art (or what you want to achieve, believe or stand for) is second class, or second to anything.
  • Reach out and build your community.
  • I repeat myself, because it is so important: Believe and never stop creating.
There is a universal law in action here. I call it the Ironic Idiot Edge. It is Ironic that the Idiots come out at the Edge of our growth.

There is a universal law in action here. I call it the Ironic Idiot Edge. It is Ironic that the Idiots come out at the Edge of our growth.

The more risk you take, the more the Idiots will come out. They are like Zombies that smell the risk, the vulnerability and the courage to stand out. It is ironic because facing Idiot-Zombies is a sure sign that you and I are growing and learning real stuff. Trust me, it’s way easier to stay at home and eat chips.

Don’t despair, it get’s easier. No, the Zombies do not go away. They will probably gather in greater crowds. What will happen is that you will get better and better at your art, your voice, your leadership, your ideas. You will grow more than you imagined and you will use the Idiot-Zombies for fuel. The best way to fight the Zombies is to know yourself and have other people who have your back.

A FREE WIFI Community

I will be bold and ask you to join our community. All that you need to do is click FOLLOW on this page. No spam, ever. No negativity, ever. Positive, life-affirming and celebrating your growth. What you will find is a community of stories that may just change your story.

If you are a man or know men who aspire to be good, join me at The Good Men Project (click on the link below). This is a community that is having a conversation that no one else is having. For those in my community, GMP is offering a 10% discount. Join a community and save enough dough for a coffee!

A Glimpse of What Enlightened Masculinity

When you find your community, speak up. We are waiting for you.

 

Keep it Real

Photos by Nicolas Nova and Erik Gustafson.

2 thoughts on “Free WIFI, so Please Don’t Feed the Idiots

Leave a Reply

